Skip to Content

Legislative Policies

Course Repeat Fee

A student attempting the same class for the third time will be charged the non-resident tuition rate. An attempted course is defined as any course in which a grade is earned on the transcript, included repeated courses and courses dropped with a grade of “W”. Read more about course repeat fee


Excessive Hours

Texas Education Code § 54.014 specifies that an undergraduate student classified as a Texas resident for tuition purposes may be subject to a higher tuition rate for attempting excessive hours at any public institution of higher education. Texas State students attempting hours in excess of their degree program requirements will be charged at the non-resident tuition rate. Read more about excessive hours


Six-Drop Rule

In 2007, the Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 1231 which provides that, except for several specific instances of good cause, undergraduate students entering as first time freshmen at a Texas public institution of higher education in the fall of 2007 or later will be limited to a total of six dropped courses during their undergraduate career. Read more about six-drop rule


Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)

FERPA is the Federal law, Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) and it protects the privacy of the student education records and guarantees students’ access to their own records. Read more about FERPA


Tuition Rebate Information

Under Texas Education Code §54.0065, qualified students will receive up to a $1,000 tuition rebate upon graduation from Texas State. You must apply for the tuition rebate no sooner than the first day of the semester in which you graduate and no later than 60 days after graduation. Read more about Tuition Rebate program


Vaccination Requirement

Effective Jan. 1, 2014, state law (Senate Bill 62) requires that students who will be under age 22 on their first day of class at a public, private or independent institution of higher education in Texas provide proof of immunization for bacterial meningitis. The vaccination or booster dose must have been received during the five years prior to enrollment and at least ten days before the start of classes. Read more about meningitis vaccination requirement